West End Quartet by Ariadne Apostolou; Five Directions Press; ISBN-13 978-1947044005

West End Quartet, by Ariadne Apostolou, consists of four novellas. In 1980 four young women who were university students lived in a Manhattan West Side apartment. The living situation was communal and called Group. All four were intelligent and passionate about what they believed. After Mal, the founder of Group, experiences a tragedy, the women separate. Thirty years later, she strives to reunite them. She has a secret to share.
The first three novellas are devoted to each of three individual women, Mal, Mina, and Gwen. We learn who they were in 1980 and who they are thirty years later. The fourth novella is different in that the central character is Mina’s teenage daughter, Skye, who went to Greece to stay with the fourth woman, Kleio and her daughter. The author brings to the reader fascinating and unique characters. Their intriguing interwoven stories are engrossing and told in impeccable detail.
West End Quartet is beautifully written. In my opinion, this is fiction at its best. Highly recommended.

I received a complimentary copy of this book through LibraryThing. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s